Paul Bernays Award

Starting in 2011, the Swiss Society for Logic and Philosophy of Science (SSLPS) awards each year the Paul Bernays Award to a young researcher for an outstanding contribution in the area of logic and philosophy of science. The award is sponsored by Altonaer Stiftung für philosophische Grundlagenforschung.

The work of the nominees must be documented by a thesis (e.g. Master or PhD thesis), a paper or a series of papers, and must have been carried out in large part at a Swiss institution; only researchers not older than 35 may be nominated.

The Swiss Society for Logic and Philosophy of Science appoints an award committee each year. The committee has full discretion to choose the award winner in accordance with the rules mentioned above. All its decisions are final.

The annual award winner will receive the Paul Bernays Award during a special event of the Swiss Society for Logic and Philosophy of Science. The award for 2021 includes prize money of 1000 CHF.

The award committee 2021 consists of: Andrea Cantini (Florence), Reinhard Kahle (Tübingen), Giovanni Sommaruga (Zurich), and Thomas Studer (Berne). Nominations for the Paul Bernays Award 2021 should be sent to Giovanni Sommaruga ( by July 18, 2021.

The winner of the 2020 Bernays award was

Dr. Dustin Lazarovici

The winner of the 2019 Bernays award was

Dr. Jan Walker

The winner of the 2018 Bernays award was

Dr. Filippo Cavallari

The winner of the 2017 Bernays award was

Dr. Silvia Steila

The winner of the 2016 Bernays award was

Dr. Ioannis Kokkinis

The winner of the 2015 Bernays award was

Dr. Yann Pequignot

The winner of the 2014 Bernays award was

Dr. Raphael Carroy

The winner of the 2013 Bernays award was

Dr. Sebastian Eberhard

The winner of the 2012 Bernays award was

Dr. Johannes Stern

The winner of the 2011 Bernays award was

Dr. Alessandro Facchini
Paul Bernays portrait
Image: E-Pics Bildarchiv online