Membre de la SCNAT

La SSLPS a pour but de favoriser le développement et l’étude de la logique et de la philosophie des sciences et de réunir les personnes intéressées par ces domaines.

Image : OscarLoRo,

Paul Bernays Award

Starting in 2011, the Swiss Society for Logic and Philosophy of Science (SSLPS) awards each year the Paul Bernays Award to a young researcher for an outstanding contribution in the area of logic and philosophy of science. The award is sponsored by Altonaer Stiftung fur philosophische Grundlagenforschung.

The work of the nominees must be documented by a thesis (e.g. Master or PhD thesis), a paper or a series of papers, and must have been carried out in large part at a Swiss institution; only researchers not older than 35 may be nominated.

The Swiss Society for Logic and Philosophy of Science appoints an award committee each year. The committee has full discretion to choose the award winner in accordance with the rules mentioned above. All its decisions are final.

The annual award winner will receive the Paul Bernays Award during a special event of the Swiss Society for Logic and Philosophy of Science. The award for 2023 includes prize money of 1000 CHF.

The award committee 2023 consists of: Laura Crosilla (Oslo), Reinhard Kahle (Tübingen), Giovanni Sommaruga (Zurich), and Thomas Studer (Berne). Nominations for the Paul Bernays Award 2023 should be sent to Giovanni Sommaruga ( by September 15, 2023.

The winner of the 2021 Bernays award was

Dr. Louis Vuilleumier

The winner of the 2020 Bernays award was

Dr. Dustin Lazarovici

The winner of the 2019 Bernays award was

Dr. Jan Walker

The winner of the 2018 Bernays award was

Dr. Filippo Cavallari

The winner of the 2017 Bernays award was

Dr. Silvia Steila

The winner of the 2016 Bernays award was

Dr. Ioannis Kokkinis

The winner of the 2015 Bernays award was

Dr. Yann Pequignot

The winner of the 2014 Bernays award was

Dr. Raphael Carroy

The winner of the 2013 Bernays award was

Dr. Sebastian Eberhard

The winner of the 2012 Bernays award was

Dr. Johannes Stern

The winner of the 2011 Bernays award was

Dr. Alessandro Facchini

Paul Bernays portrait
Image : E-Pics Bildarchiv online